Status as of right now (Hurricane Irma)

As of right now lovelies, I have received the “Hurricane Warning” and I’ve officially wrapped up the preparations to ride through Irma.

I know that the power might be knocked out again but I cannot really say for certain, how long. I will find ways to keep you guys updated but right now, Irma has dropped to a Category 4.

If you are from Florida as well, please stay safe or if you know someone who is currently living in florida, check on them.

Make sure your pets, if you have any, have enough food, water and toys to keep them fed and occuppied. Do not, I repeat, DO NOT abandon your pets. These links offer tips and advice about protecting your pets and helping them through the stormy weather:

Also, right now, many schools, underneath the leadership of  have been opened up as shelters for those whom have left their homes in uncertainty.

However, on the news, many are being filled up at a very quickened pace.

To those that do intend on leaving their homes, please make sure that your valuables, documents, money, jewelry, photographs, electronics or anything that you label as valuable is stored away somewhere safe. Why?

Besides the holidays, hurricane season is another high season for robberies to occur. People leave their homes and currently, there are cars that circle around neighborhoods trying to find abandoned homes to rob.

If you have cars, do not waste your full tank of gas.

Only drive your car if you really need to head somewhere to get something because many gas stations around florida have already claimed to be out of fuel. Therefore, please be conservative of fuel, especially for generators that require a lot of fuel to run.

For children, teach them about the hurricane.

First off, keep calm, both children and pets react the same way when they see that their adult figure is display panic and fear. Use this opportunity to keep them entertained with the hurricane brewing. Growing up, we read books, painted pottery or color in by numbers, play card games, tell stories, draw pictures and came together as a family. Charge up electronics or any electronic games that you may preoccupy your child or teens with.

These links go into more detail in regards to keeping your loved ones safe and occupied:

 

Batteries, Batteries, Batteries; make sure you have plenty of batteries for flashlights and any other things that run on them. Medication! Make sure to have almost a 2-week stock of necessary medications for you or any loved ones. Canned foods and Dasani, or any other bottled water brand, becomes your best friend during hurricanes. Do not and I say this like a broken record, Do not wait until the last minute like others.

 You’d be surprised how everything can fly off the shelves at this season.

For any students, whether be middle, high school, college or university, if you are taking online courses: email your teachers and professors. Explain to them the situation you are in so they do not flag you for any assignments that you cannot do without any power. I’ve already taken the liberty to email all my professors a week in advance so they already know the situation.

For those that remain concerned, I am fine, my family is fine, shutters up, full gas tank. Trixie, my golden bundle of joy, is a safe and prepared kitty cat. Have my canned food and water bottles prepared as well.

2 thoughts on “Status as of right now (Hurricane Irma)

  1. Alejandro Carouthers says:

    Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

    Like

  2. Lindsay Sembler says:

    Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossip and internet stuff and this is really annoying. A good web site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thanks for making this web-site, and I will be visiting again. Do you do newsletters by email?

    Like

Leave a comment